EMT Certification in North Dakota

The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians is the regulating body in most of the states of the United States to provide EMT license and certificate. Students, who desire to practice their skills, will first require qualifying a program program, designed by the DOT (Department of Transportation). This program program consists of a minimum of 110 hours of practical, as well as informative sessions.

Requirements for EMT Certification

There are various conditions maintained by the state of North Dakota, which are to be satisfied by the prospective EMTs to obtain certification. These conditions are grouped in two heads, as:

General Requirements

  • The applicant has to attain the age of 16 years or above.
  • All the candidates applying for certification have to complete an EMT program program.
  • All the students should be able to show proof of high school diploma or GED.
  • An authorized driving license is also essential to be owned by the applicant.
  • The applicants must possess the capability to lift weight up to 120 pounds.
  • The aspirant may be asked to show his/her lawful evidence of nationality.
  • It is crucial for the prospective Emergency Medical Technicians to be able to read, write, and communicate English language.
  • All the students have to submit their fingerprints and qualify a drug test.
  • They also need to pass a background check successfully.
  • Every individual must have a CPR program certificate.

Special Requirements

  • In the state of North Dakota, a candidate with an age of 16 years can apply for certification.
  • All the applicants are obligated to pay the fee along with the application form.
  • Lastly, the EMT prospects have to clear a practical exam approved by the state of North Dakota.

EMT Certification Process

The steps included in the state of North Dakota to acquire Emergency Medical Technician certificate are as follows:

1. State-Accredited Program:The first essential requirement in North Dakota is to complete the program at desired level- EMT, EMT-I, AEMT or EMT-P. Before taking admission in any program institute, ensure that it is accredited by the state.

2. Application for National Certification: A candidate can apply for national certification by following these steps, one-by-one:

  • At first, an aspirant has to open an account by clicking on “Create New Account” option on the NREMT’s website.
  • To take examinations, hit on “Create Initial Entry Application” option.
  • Students can pay the application fee at the time of applying or later.
  • Now, you are required to check the application status. For this purpose, visit log into your account and click on “Initial Entry Application Status”.
  • When the option of “Submitted” is seen near to the “Course Completion Verification”, it implies that your information has been forwarded, but its authorization from the director of the education program is pending.
  • If “Not Submitted” option is visible near “Application Payment” option, then applicants have to pay the fees before getting the ATT letter.
  • To schedule examinations, get a print out of the ATT (Authorization to Test) letter. Read the instructions given on the letter carefully.

3. Pass a Background Check : The certification process also involves a background screening, which is essential to clear by the aspirants to acquire an EMT certificate.

4. Apply for License : After qualifying background check successfully, candidates can apply for obtaining a license. It is essential for applicants to attach copies of NREMT card. The application needs to be mailed at the below mentioned address:

North Dakota Department of Health
Division of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma
600 East, Boulevard Avenue,
Department 301, Bismarck, North Dakota- 58505-0200

Renewal of EMT Certification

In North Dakota, EMT license or certificate remains valid for a period of two years, and it can be renewed at any level. The candidates have to keep in mind the following essential requirements, which are to be fulfilled at the time of recertification:

  • The applicants should be currently providing services to EMS agency, fire-fighting agency, or rescue center.
  • The EMT prospects should provide complete information in the recertification application.
  • The application is required to be submitted before 31st March of the year of expiration.
  • The students also have to finish continuing education hours at the respective levels:
    • EMT: At this stage of program, the candidates have to complete 20 hours of NCCR, 10 hours of Individual Continued Competency Requirements (ICCR), and 10 hours of Local Core Competency Course (LCCR). With this, a candidate also has to complete the NREMT assessment.
    • AEMT: At intermediate level, the applicant has to complete 50 hours of program, which includes 25 hours of NCCR and 12.5 hours each of ICCR and LCCR. He/she is also required to finish the NREMT assessment.
    • EMT-P: Recertification at the last stage suggests completing 60 hours of program, including 30 hours of NCCR and 15 hours each of LCCR and ICCR.

Do You Know